My twin must haves

When you find out that you’re expecting twins, your mind goes into overdrive thinking about everything that you will need and the cost of buying two of everything. We got a free information book from Twins UK which was really helpful on focusing our minds as to what we actually needed.

My top five essentials are:

A feeding cushion – I used the Harmony Duo feeding cushion  Harmony Duowhich allowed me to tandem feed the twins on my own once hubby had returned to work. We bottle fed and fed on both at the same time at all times (and seven months later, we still do). The cushion allows for bottle and breast-feeding, offers post c section support and made me feel confident and relaxed in feeding them on my own. It did take practice and organisation but after a few days, we got the hang of it and the twins recognised being placed on the cushion as a sign that their feed was imminent. I also used it when feeding one twin as I developed tendonitis which made it painful to support their head for the 45 minutes that a feed could take.

Hubby demonstrating the feeding cushion

Hubby demonstrating the feeding cushion

A changing bag – get one big enough to fit two of everything plus extras. We decided to go for
Skip Hop Duo Deluxe
and I have to say that I love it. It has a number of pockets, both internal and external, is wipe clean and has buggy clips to attach it to the pushchair.

A pushchair – there is no perfect pushchair and there certainly is no perfect twin pushchair. Initially, when we were looking, I thought that we would get a side by side as I didn’t like the idea of an inline pushchair. However, with three  fire doors to get out of our building, a pushchair that would just go through a door was not an option. We were impressed with Baby Jogger but were advised that the long base would make it front heavy and difficult to manoeuvre which was a consideration for me as I have back and joint problems. Therefore, we decided to get the Phil & Teds Promenade which is similar to the Icandy, has convertibile seats and is compact, light and easy to push. It’s not perfect but so far, it’s doing the job.

Bouncy chairs – essential for feeding when they get too big for the feeding cushion and for when you need somewhere safe for them sit.

Door bouncer/activity station – a favourite in this household and great when you have a baby who wants to stand all the time. We picked our door bouncer up for £5 at a nearly new sale and the activity station came  from a charity shop for £15. (I love a bargain and nearly new sales have become essential for us with two wardrobes to run).

2 thoughts on “My twin must haves

  1. That feeding pillow looks fab! I wish we had gone for one but they are fed in their bouncy chairs now so I guess the time has passed. I thought they were more for breastfeeding so didn’t think the invest in one but I think it would have been easier in those early weeks. Great must haves x

    • Thank you. It was definitely my essential item & we used it until they were about 5 months old. It was worth the money & they seemed to love being fed on it x

Leave a Reply

