Returning to work

As much as I bury my head in the sand and pretend that it’s not happening, the time for me to return to work is looming. In an ideal world, we’d have enough money for me to stay at home for a while longer but we don’t live in a ideal world….do we?

We want to move this year as we are rapidly outgrowing our two bed flat as the twins toys are growing at the same rate as they do. My wages will give us that little bit of wiggle room and allow for some treats. It will make our lives financially easier. I’m very lucky that family have agreed to provide childcare so there is no cost for us. The cost of two in childcare would be equivalent to my earnings and who wants to work for nothing?

I met with my manager a week ago to talk about hours, role and all the changes that have happened while I’ve been away – there have been a lot! I shall put my formal written request for part time hours in next week and keep my fingers crossed that they do. If we can’t come to an agreement, my only choice will be to look elsewhere. Several colleagues have come back on part time hours following maternity leave so a precedent has been set so I think it will be unlikely that they will flatly refuse the request.

I will miss the twins but I know that they will be in safe hands and I’ll get sent lots of photos of their day. I will cherish the days that we do get to spend together and make the most of the next few months.

In a way, I am looking to reclaiming some ‘me time’. Is that bad?

Leave a Reply

