Time to lose the baby weight

After procrastinating for months about losing weight, promising myself that next week would be the week to start and never keeping to it, I’ve decided that the time is now. I feel fat! None of my clothes fit properly. I have lots of summer clothes that have barely been worn that I can fit into and I can’t afford to buy any more.

I’ve previously done slimming world which did work for me. I’m more of a tortoise than a hare in the weight loss race, tending to lose no more than a lb per week but a loss is still a loss. Before the ivf cycles started, I managed to lose just under 2 stone and was feeling good about myself.

20140531-141107-51067333.jpg

However, two ivf stim cycles and a twin pregnancy meant I put it back on and then some. Whilst I wouldn’t have it any other way, the twins are now one and I have no excuse to not be healthier for me and for them. I don’t want to be a fat mummy. I’ll never be skinny but I’m not happy where I am. I particularly dislike my c section pouch so stomach exercises 😳 are also needed – any tips and hints welcome as I can’t do crunches due to previous injuries.

As I can’t afford to go back to slimming world at the moment, I’m tracking my calorie intake using the My Fitness Pal app. So far, so good (it’s only been five days though!). The app is easy to use, has a good amount of saved items and you can scan the barcode of most items to get an accurate calorie intake.

I’m weighing my rice and pasta which I have never really done before. Eats as much as you want tends to give me free rein! I’m also limiting my chocolate intake which as a complete chocoholic is tough.

My long term aim is to lose three stone but I expect this to take a year to eighteen months. At the moment, I’m taking it day by day and lb by lb.

I’ll blog my progress and hopefully it will give me more motivation to keep going

X

Leave a Reply

