Some of our favourite babyled weaning recipes

We are now several months into our babyled weaning journey and the twins are fabulous eaters. They are now down to 2-3 bottles a day with 3 meals and a snack a day. I do seem to spend a lot of time washing up!

They have several meals that they particularly enjoy. They are quick and simple to prepare and often freezable.

Courgette Fritters

20140507-114857.jpg

The recipe for these can be found at My Lovely Little Lunchbox I have made these as per the recipe but have found that I needed two eggs to bind the ingredients together. I have also replaced the Parmesan and mint with feta cheese which went down equally as well!

Sweet potato, lentil and cheese croquettes

20140507-120731.jpg

The recipe for these can be found at Little Grazers I froze these before baking in the oven and just defrost a few at a time. They bake well and hold their form (most of the time!). I added ready cooked Puy lentils as I couldn’t find red lentils at the time of cooking.

Carrot and Potato cakes

Again, I can thank the Little Grazers website for this recipe. I made a slight adjustment but not adding onion (because I didn’t have one). As with the croquettes, I froze these before baking in the oven.

20140507-121341.jpg

Stewed Fruit

If I have a glut of fruit such as plums and pears so I stew them (separately) as we won’t eat them all before they go off. I chop the fruit up into small chunks, add a splash of water, 1/2 tsp sugar and 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon. I simmer the fruit for 15-20 minutes until soft. When it’s cooled, I portion it into freezer bags and freeze. I use the stewed fruit with weetabix or porridge, mixed in plain yoghurt or in a crumble or rice pudding.

Having food in the freezer helps as it’s not always appropriate for the twins to eat the same food as us and cooking during the day isn’t always possible.

If you have any favourite BLW recipes, I’d love you to share them with me x

Leave a comment